Bluejackets to be awarded Apr. 30

Bluejackets to be awarded Apr. 30 The Bluejacket Awards Ceremony will be held at 10 AM on April 30th during a slightly modified ceremony this year, due to social distancing implementations prompted by COVID-19. The awards, normally presented during a Navy League dinner, will be made available to the awardees during a ceremony held on the front lawn of Building 1 onboard the installation.

The IWV Navy League will honor the eight candidates and announce the selected Senior and Junior enlisted service members as Bluejacket of the Year.

Contributions and support from local businesses and private individuals make this event possible each year. Donations of any amount are appreciated and go to support this event only to ensure its success.

The IWV Navy League is a civilian organization dedicated to informing the American people and their government that the United States of America is a maritime nation and that its national defense and economic well being are dependent upon strong sea services – United States Navy, United States Marine Corps, United States Coast Guard and United States Merchant Marine. Awards in the past have included cash prizes for the recipients.

For more information on the Navy League Bluejacket Awards dinner, contact Dan Thomas, Bluejackets Chairman, at or 760-382-2560.

USN courtesy photo: 2021 49th Annual I W V Council of the Navy League Bluejacket Candidates. Front Row: AC2 Michael Coles, USN; AC1 (AW/SW) Tanisha Williams, USN; HNSN Valeria Pizarro, USN; AC1 (AW) Adrian Garza, USN; AZ1 (AW) Wade Burns, USN; AWS2 (AW/NAC) Justen Thurman, USN; AC2 (AW/SW) Anthony Haynes, USN; & AO1 (AW/SW) Charlotte King, USN (Not Pictured) Back Row: John Paul (NDTI), Danny Guevara (ALR CH 684 VP), Dan Thomas (IWVNL Bluejacket Chairman), Steve Varga (IWVNL President), Cecilia Martin (Raytheon Technologies), Patrick Blubaugh (IWVNL, DCS Corporation), Shawn Pearcy (IWVNL, ALTUS & SA TECH).

Story First Published: 2021-04-30