Chamber installation, awards are June 12

The Ridgecrest Chamber of Commerce will host its annual Installation and Community Awards Luncheon Tuesday, June 12, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at the Maturango Room at SpringHill Suites.

“We are looking forward to recognizing the people and the businesses that make our community great,” said Chamber CEO Suzette Caufield. “Come support our awardees as we honor them for Business of the Year, Volunteer Service Award, Senior Service Award, Community Beautification Award, Youth Service Award, Lifetime Achievement Award and the Chairwoman’s Award.

New Directors Chris Hill with Gary Charlon State Farm and Sarah Bradford with the Clarion Inn will be sworn in along with the rest of the board.

The chamber board’s 11 members are responsible for formulating and adopting policies for the chamber, said Caufield. The chamber also serves the business community by facilitating promotions, ribbon-cuttings, mixers and more. Each year the Ridgecrest Star Follies showcases local leaders and raises funds, and the Economic Outlook Conference keeps members and guests informed.

Chair Debbie Benson will pass the gavel to incoming Chair Daryl Silberberg, Jr., and a total of 10 directors will be sworn in for the 2018-2019 year. Treasurer Dan Spurgeon will be leaving the board this year to pursue other community endeavors. Returning directors include Benson (Maturango Museum), Janis Bottorff (S.A.S.S.), Jennifer Cotterell (Navy Federal Credit Union), Natalie Dorrell (Cerro Coso Community College), David Eriksen (Partners Bar), Bernie Mondragon (Bernie’s Landscaping), Tim Neipp (Cosner-Neipp Corp), Solomon Rajaratnam (Mission Bank), and Tina Warren (Warren’s Automotive).

Lunch, provided by Ephen Tacos, will be $30 per member or guest. Reservations should be made by noon Monday, June 11, by calling 760-375-8331 or e-mailing

“We are fortunate to live in a community with so many outstanding individuals and businesses, and this is the chamber’s way of saying thank you,” said Caulfield.

Story First Published: 2018-06-08