What’s on the ballot?

June 5 Primary Election has federal, state and county seats up for vote

Rebecca Neipp

News Review Staff Writer

A ballot packed with legislative seats at all levels of government, judicial seats and state measures faces voters on Tuesday, June 5, in California’s Primary Election.

In each of the races, the top two vote-getters in the pool (unless one candidate receives a 50-percent-plus one vote) will face off in the November General Election.

U.S. House District 23 Representative Kevin McCarthy, the Republican incumbent, is facing challengers James Davis (no party preference), Tatiana Matta (Democrat), Mary Helen Barro (D), Kurtis Wilson (D) and Wendy Reed (D).

The open seat for the 16th District of the State Senate is sought by Shannon Grove (R), Ruth Musser-Lopez (D) and Gregory Tatum (R).

Republican Assemblyman Vince Fong is facing Democrat Nick Nicita.

Two offices for Superior Court Judge include Chad Louie facing Brandon Martin for Office No. 10 and Incumbent John Fielder facing Cole McKnight for No. 14.

Candidates for State Superin-tendent of Instruction include Steven Ireland, Tony Thurmond, Marshal Tuck and Lily Ploski, who are running against appointed Superintendent Mary Barlow.

Other contested county seats include Scott Spielman and Cynthia Zimmer competing for District Attorney and Incumbent Donny Youngblood and Justin Fleeman vying for Sheriff.

Vying in the open primary for California Sate Governor are 27 candidates declaring alignment with Democratic, Republican, Green, Libertarian, Peace and Freedom and no preferred party.

High-profile candidates in the Democratic Party include former Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villagarosa, Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom and State Treasurer John Chiang. Republican contenders include Businessman John Cox and Assemblyman Travis Allen.

Robert Griffis, Shubham Goel, Akinyemi Agbede, Johnny Wattenburg, Nickolas Wildstar, Desmond Silveira, Michael Shellenberger, Zoltan Istvan, Christopher Carlson, Thomas Cares, Amanda Renteria, Delaine Eastin, Jeffrey Taylor, Klement Tinaj, Hakan Mikado, Albert Mezzetti, Robert Newman, Josh Jones, J. Bribiesca, Gloria La Riva, Peter Liu and Yvonne Girard are also running for the seat.

Another 11 candidates from a broad political spectrum vying for Lieutenant Governor include Jeff Bleich, Eleni Kounalakis, Cameron Gharabiklou, Tim Ferreira, David Fennell, Danny Thomas, Cole Harris, Ed Hernandez, David Hernandez, Lydia Ortega and Gayle McLaughlin.

Candidates for Secretary of State include Gail Lightfoot, C.T. Weber, Erik Rydberg, Raul Rodriguez, Michael Feinstein, Ruben Major, Mark Meuser and Alex Padilla.

The more lightly contested races include that for controller, which includes Konstantinos Roditis (R), Mary Lou Finley (P&F) and Betty Yee (D).

Treasurer candidates include Greg Conlon (R), Fiona Ma (D), Vivek Viswanathan (D), Jack Guerrero (R) and Kevin Akin (P&F).

Running for Attorney General are Steven Bailey (R), Xavier Becerra (D), Eric Early (R) and Dave Jones (D).

Insurance Commissioner candidates are Ricardo Lara (D), Nathalie Hrizi (P&F), Asif Mahmood (D) and Steve Poizner (NPP).

Republicans Ted Gaines, Connie Conway and David Evans will be facing Democrat Tom Hallinan for 1st District State Board of Equalization.

The most crowded race on the ballot is that of United States Senator, where Democratic Incumbent Dianne Feinstein faces 31 challengers, including Tom Palzer, John Parker, Douglas Pierce, Herbert Peters, James Bradley, Arun Bhumitra, Jerry Laws, Patrick Little, Tim Gildersleeve, Michael Girgis, Don Grundmann, Rash Ghosh, Ling Shi, John Crew, Erin Cruz, Derrick Reid, Colleen Fernald, Adrienne Edwards, Paul Taylor, Donnie Turner, Pat Harris, Alison Hartson, Jason Hanania, David Hildebrand, Lee Olson, Roque De La Fuente, Kevin De Leon, Kevin Mottus, David Moore, Mario Nabliba and Gerald Plummer.

The ballot measures include:

Prop 68 — authorizes bonds funding parks, natural resources protection, climate adaptation, water quality and supply and flood protection

Prop 69 — requires that certain new transportation revenues be used for transportation purposes, legislative constitutional amendment

Prop 70 — Requires legislative supermajority vote to approve use of cap-and-trade reserve fund, legislative constitutional amendment

Prop 71 — Sets effective date for ballot measures, legislative constitutional amendment

Prop 72 — Permits legislature to exclude newly constructed rain-capture systems from property-tax reassessment requirement, legislative constitutional amendment

Following poll closure at 8 p.m., results of state races will begin updating at the Secretary of State’s website, www.sos.ca.gov. County election results will be updated at elections.co.kern.ca.us/elections.

Story First Published: 2018-06-01