District bids farewell to retiring teachers, staff

Rebecca Neipp

News Review Staff Writer

District bids farewell to retiring teachers, staffSuperintendent Ernie Bell and Board President Amy Castillo-Covert thank SSuSD retirees for their service. — Courtesy photo


Sierra Sands Unified School District Board of Trustees and administrators honored retiring teachers and support staff who have logged a combined six and a half centuries of service to the Indian Wells Valley.

“The talents and contributions of district employees are the key to the success of the students of Sierra Sands,” said Dr. David Ostash, assistant superintendent of human resources.

At its May 17 board meeting, the board recognized 13 certificated and 14 classified employees who have or will retire this school year, recognizing these individiuals for distinguished and dedicated service.

Among those moving on are Burroughs High School Counselor Shari Rosenberg, who has been serving Sierra Sands since 1967.

Other teachers, along with their most recent assignments and dates of service, include:

• Charles Cox, Social Science, James Monroe Middle School, 1998-2018

• Susan Edelen, Spanish, Burroughs High School, 1999-2018

• Annie Jorgensen 4th Grade Teacher, Inyokern Elementary School 1997-2018

• Debra Martin, RSP Teacher, Gateway Elementary School, 1986-2018

• Marilyn McDowell, P.E., James Monroe Middle School, 1987-2018

• Sara Olson, 1st Grade Teacher, Pierce Elementary School, 1997-2018

• Mark Pierce, Industrial Arts, Burroughs High School, 1981-2018

• Michael Sernett, Assistant Principal, James Monroe Middle School, 1989-2018

• Catherine Studer, 4th Grade Teacher, Gateway Elementary School, 1990-2018

• Kristi West, 2nd Grade Teacher, Pierce Elementary School, 1991-2018

• Susan Whillhite, Kindergarten Teacher, Las Flores Elementary School, 1987-2018

• Carol Zdeba, Counselor, Mesquite High School, 1984-2018

Classified retirees include:

• Eva Balfour, Paraprofessional, Richmond/Transportation 1998-2018

• Juanita Castillo, Noon Duty Supervisor, Las Flores Elementary School, 1989-2018

• Janna Chilbes, Administrative Secretary, Curriculum and Instruction, 1992-2018

• Sandra Davis, Paraprofession-al, Burroughs High School, 2005-2018

• Maria DeRush, Paraprofessional/Monitor, Rich-mond/Transportation 2006-2018

• John Gibson, Custodian, Murray Middle School, 2005-2018

• Christiana Giraldo, Assistant Superintendent of Business Services, 1985-2018

• Bruce Groves, Warehouse Worker, Warehouse, 1994-2018

• Lois McCarthy, Buyer, District Office, 2000-2018

• Gary Pate, Senior Skilled Craftsperson, Maintenance, 1990-2017

• Ruth Phillips, Paraprofessional/Custodian, Rich-mond Elementary School, 2008-2018

• Ben Shaw, Custodian, Burroughs High School, 1994-2017

• Anna Smallwood, Food Service I and II, Pierce Elementary School, 1998-2017

• Jeff Wisdom, Senior Skilled Craftsperson, Maintenance, 2007-2018

Superintendent Ernie Bell and Board President Amy Castillo-Covert were on hand to present awards and thank staff for their service. A brief reception followed the ceremony.

Story First Published: 2018-06-01