Cerro Coso Community College celebrates achievements

Cerro Coso Community College celebrates achievementsBaseball player Corey Young (center) receives the Cerro Coso Community College Foundation’s Athletic Academic Achievement Award for the graduating athlete with the highest GPA from Foundation President Deidre Patin (left) and Director Derrick Hue. — Courtesy photo


The student government of Cerro Coso Community College celebrated the achievements of students, faculty and staff at its 34th annual Spring Awards Luncheon held on May 3.

Awards included:

President’s Outstanding Academic Achievement — Macklin Arbiola, Alison Baker, Carol Blair, David Blair, Britney Brown, Tanya Brown, Kathleen Delacruz, Vitalii Dubytskyi, Devyn Durham, Chance English, Gladys Reynoso, Danielle Hensel, Holly Hill, Anita Keller, Greg Kutzbach, Grace Lloyd, Vanessa McAllister, Luke McGowan, Heather Menzel, Benjamin Miller, Caitlin Peterson, Yvonne Reyes, Ryan Richard, Justin Searle, Bryce Simonsen, Carlos Solorio and Nayeli Villalobos Rodriguez

Phi Theta Kappa All-California Academic Team — Britney Brown, Caitlin Peterson, Mariela Germann and Greg Kutzbach

Honors Transfer Council of California Exemplary Achievement — Britney Brown and Caitlin Peterson

CCCC Foundation Athletic/ Academic — Corey Young, Men’s Baseball

Department Awards for Outstanding Achievement — Greg Kutzbach, Business and Information Technology; Jenna Daugherty, English and Foreign Languages; Ryan Richard, Industrial Arts; Shantaal Hernandez, Kinesiology; Britney Brown, Mathematics; Vitalii Dubytski, Science; Holly Hill, Social Sciences; Britney Brown, Visual and Performing Arts; Laurie Alderman, Paralegal; Samuel Kelley, Allied Health.

Site Student of the Year — Nayeli Villalobos Rodriguez, Eastern Sierra College Center; Lisa Burt, East Kern Tehachapi Campus; and Kimberly Dochterman, Kern River Valley Campus

Tutor of the Year — Ryan Richard

CCCC Excellence in Education — Nikki Gardepe, Julianne Maikai, Ashlin Mattos, and Paul Kuttig

SGCC Awards for Teaching Excellence — Matthew Crow, IWV Full-Time Faculty; Nakysha Cummings, Online Faculty; Karen Moore, IWV Adjunct Faculty; Carlos Wright-Tkacz, ESCC Faculty; Debra Rundell, KRV Full-Time Faculty; Jeff Welsh and Jennifer Flenner, KRV Adjunct Faculty; Melissa Bowen, East Kern Faculty.

Staff Awards: Ashley Nichols-Lampkin, Library Technician I – Academic Senate Staff of the Year; Kathryn Bachman, Administrative Assistant – Classified Senate Staff of the Year; and Inge Olsen – KRV Staff of the Year.

Story First Published: 2018-05-25