Community invited to Bluejacket awards dinner March 17

Community invited to Bluejacket  awards dinner March 17Pictured: BlueJacket of the Year candidates are (from left front) Navy Counselor First Class Kenneth Billingslea, Hospital Corpsman First Class Derrick Haynes, Hospitalman Jace Borowiak, Logistics Specialist Second Class Jannette Fritz, Aviation Boatswain’s Mate Aircraft Handler Airman Lashanna Brown, Logistics Specialist First Class Jamie Yancey, Aviation Ordnanceman Third Class Clayton Davenport and Logistics Specialist First Class Greg Lankford. In back Cecilia Martin of Raytheon, Denise Wise and Mercer Morgan of the Navy League, Sheryl Scanlon of NAWCWD, IWV Treasurer Steve Varga, Jeff Hargrove of Engility and Blue Jacket chair Dan Thomas of DCS Corp. —Courtesy photo


The Navy League of Indian Wells Valley will host the 46th annual Bluejacket Dinner and Awards Ceremony Saturday, March 17, at the Kerr McGee Center.

Social hour starts at 6 p.m., followed by dinner (catered by Ale’s Steakhouse) at 7 pm. and an awards ceremony at 8 p.m.

“Please join us in honoring eight outstanding sailors from the commands at China Lake,” said a spokesperson. Each candidate will be introduced, with recognition goin to the most outstanding senior and junior sailor or Marine of the Year.

Contributions and support from local businesses and private individuals make this event possible each year.

Story First Published: 2018-03-09